Album Review: NO SPILL BLOOD – Eye of Night


NO SPILL BLOOD – Eye of Night

Label: Svart

Release Date: February 24th, 2023

I really wasn’t sure what to make of this band judging from their promo material that accompanied the release. I was expecting some post-modern rock and was completely blown away by what lies within. No Spill Blood has a self-described sound “synthetic kraut metal” which only hints at what these lads have produced here.

The band is a three-piece consisting of Matt Hedigan (bass and vocals), Ruadhan O’Meara(synths and electronics), Ror Conaty(drums), which was formed in 2011 in Dublin. Their first album came out in 2015 and was titled Heavy Electricity. Eye of Night is their sophomore release and is a hellish soundscape that combines hints of post-modern black metal, raw thrash, synth punk, noise, and doom all done without a guitarist in the fold is actually pretty damn impressive. The artwork by acclaimed fantasy artist Michael Whelan adds to the desolate feel of the album and suits it perfectly.

Standout tracks include the lead single “Anvil Crawler”, the energetic and speedy title track “Eye of Night” and the doomy “Ekur.”

“Ad Unguem” has more of a breathy electronic melody with steady drum beats and mixes of sounds added here and there to complete the growly vocal track. “Dead Satellite” is the last song on the album and has a fuzz element all throughout that almost makes you feel like you have been transported to the Twilight Zone. It is mesmerizing from the start to the end. Special kudos goes out to the fantastic drumming by Conaty but the whole thing feels pretty special.

The album drops on February 24th and the band will be embarking on a European tour with Year of No Light. Make sure you go and check them out if they come near you!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.