Album Review: SUICIDE SILENCE – Remember… You Must Die

Suicide Silence – Remember… You Must Die

Label: Century Media Records

Release Date: March 10th, 2023

I’ve been listening to Suicide Silence since I was 12 years old. They bring a sense of nostalgia to me. I’d walk to school with my MP3 player, listening to them in the morning, ready to start school. They have a long history of being one of the best deathcore metal bands, and for good reason. They remain tried and true to their sound while also taking you by surprise at times. Remember… You Must Die, is straight heavy and intense. One might say the heaviest one thus far. While they are no stranger to heartbreak, they clearly are also no stranger to neck-breaking metal.

Suicide Silence started in 2002 with Tanner Womack as the lead vocalist. The band released their first demo, Death Awaits shortly after. In 2004, Mitch Lucker became the lead vocalist and they released a self-titled EP in 2005. After signing with Century Media Records in 2006, they released The Cleansing the following year. This album debuted at number 94 on the Billboard 200, and became one of the best-selling debut albums in Century Media history. The band’s success only went up from there as they started to perform at festivals such as Mayhem Fest. In 2012, Mitch got into a motorcycle accident and passed away due to his injuries a month later. The band was shocked and heartbroken, and it rocked the metal community, but they vowed to carry on. Suicide Silence held a memorial show for Mitch and his daughter. After almost a year of inactivity a new vocalist, Hernan “Eddie” Hermida joined the band. Hernan’s first appearance was on a clip of their song, “You Only Live Once”.

Suicide Silence has had a few changes in members throughout the years. The band currently consists of
Chris Garza (guitar), Mark Heylmun (guitar), Dan Kenny (bass), Hernan “Eddie” Hermida (vocalist), and Ernie Iniguez (drums). They will be releasing their newest album on March 10th 2023, titled Remember… You Must Die. They really outdid themselves with this one. Remember… You Must Die leans into the heavy roots that they built their empire upon and embodies their new acronym; H.A.P (heavy as possible). From the first to last song, the journey will increase your blood flow and energy level. I found myself thrashing my head aggressively the entire album.

It starts off with an introduction track called “Remember…”, the second track on the album has the title “You Must Die”. I found that to be a clever way to start the album instead of just having a track solely called the title of the album.

“You Must Die” has incredible musicianship as does the rest of the album and is a great start to what you will be experiencing. The guitar riffs doubles with the vocals flawlessly and the bass and drums dive deep into your cranium. It just feels like an incredible mix of all the heavy instruments coming together. Although it was beyond difficult to choose, my favorite song of the album has to be track 8, “Endless Dark”. The entire time I was head banging away. It was done so diligently and has a inspiring guitar solo that just makes you smile hearing it. The guitar riffs, insanely fast drumming,  huge basslines, along with the vocals just had me amazed the entire time.

The album ends with a track called “Full Void”, and is the longest track on the album, but it does not feel as long as it is. It is five minutes and forty-five seconds long and it left me wishing it would last for much longer, I was not ready for it to end.

All in all, although I only mentioned 4/12 of the tracks, each of the tracks had a different sense of uniqueness to it and the album appears to be done with purpose. The entire album was an aggressive and impressive deathcore album that kept me intrigued and wanting more. Suicide Silence is set to tour in April of 2023 and if they are coming near you, definitely go see them! I would love to see any of these songs from this album live, as I feel like they would put on a badass show!

Remember... You Must DieSuicide Silence
Comments (0)
Add Comment